Veliko Tarnovo - Provinces of Bulgaria


Veliko Tarnovo is a province in the middle of the northern part of Bulgaria. Its capital city, Veliko Tarnovo, is of historical significance as it is known as the capital of Medieval Bulgaria.

Other towns in the province include Gorna Oryahovitsa, which is within 10 kilometres of Veliko Tarnovo, Svishtov, set on Danube River and famous for its Tsenov Academy of Economics, and Suhindol, the hometown of Lovico — an internationally recognised label for fine wines and spirits. Another notable place is the village of Arbanasi, set between Veliko Tarnovo and Gorna Oryahovitsa. The combination of old style and modern architecture, as well as its churches and monasteries, present the spirit of Bulgaria. Real estate is among the most expensive in the country.


Veliko Tarnovo Province is divided into the following municipalities:

  • Elena
  • Gorna Oryahovitsa
  • Lyaskovets
  • Pavlikeni
  • Polski Trambesh
  • Strashitza
  • Svishtov
  • Suhindol
  • Veliko Tarnovo
  • Zlataritsa